TV & Movies

Australia and Iceland qualify for Eurovision 2019 after wowing in semi-final

Australia and Iceland qualified in the first Eurovision 2019 semi-final in Tel Aviv this evening.

But Finland, who last won the show in 2006 with act Lordi, were snubbed after failing to be one of the 10 acts to make it through to the final on Saturday.

Iceland's Hatari and Australia's Kate Miller-Heidke will join Greece, Belarus, Serbia, Cyprus, Estonia, the Czech Republic, San Marino and Slovenia in the 26-strong event on Saturday.

A total of 17 international acts took to the stage on Tuesday night but only 10 moved on to the grand final following a 50-50 vote split between the public and an international jury.

Techno-punk group Hatari attracted much attention in the lead-up to this year's contest with their darkly energetic track Hatrid Mun Sigra (Hatred Will Prevail).

They converted that into votes, although the number was not made public and the night's 10 winners were announced in a random order.

Iceland has participated in Eurovision 31 times since its debut in 1986, missing two years and finishing twice second but never earning the top spot.

Australia's Kate Miller-Heidke, another favourite to win, also capitalised on a week of hype.

The vocalist's operatic rendition of Zero Gravity, a song about her experience of postnatal depression, saw her flying through the air atop a pole, flanked by two backing vocalists.

Source: Read Full Article