Sport

Carragher blasted by Souness and Hasslebaink over Mane elbow as Chelsea legend says 'have you got your red hat on?'

JAMIE CARRAGHER was torn apart by Graeme Souness and Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink after he suggested Sadio Mane should NOT have been sent off against Chelsea.

Mane appeared to elbow Cesar Azipilicueta seconds into the contest when the pair challenged for an aerial ball, but referee Anthony Taylor only gave him a yellow card.




And Carragher said of the incident on Sky Sports after the match: "I think that's one of those ones that fall into the orange category.

"I think if it's the point of the elbow gets him rather than his forearm he's going off.

I think it's the fact it's closer to his wrist than his elbow, and the fact it's six seconds in, that saves him.

"It's one of those that's worse than a yellow but I don't think it's quite a red.

Hasselbaink hit back in response: "Are you serious!? Have you got your red hat on or just your football hat on?

"Forget about six seconds, it's endangering the player, he goes with his elbow.

"They're (the officials) give it the word whatever they want because they have to justify what they're giving but it is a red card.

"It doesn't matter where he catches him, he's going for him. He does that, whack. If he jumps and makes himself big then okay but he doesn't do that.

And Souness agreed, adding: Sending off. I think he leads with the elbow, it's dangerous, it's violent.

Most read in Football

LUK AT THAT

Lukaku AXED from Chelsea squad to face Liverpool after bombshell interview

KY DO

Kyle Walker secretly weds childhood sweetheart despite cheating & fathering lovechild

ROLL THE RICE

Man Utd handed boost in £100m Declan Rice chase after West Ham's slump

WELL WISHES

Man Utd and Liverpool battling for Leeds' home-grown hero Charlie Cresswell

"Look where the ball is when he (Mane) hits him (Azpilicueta). The ball is nowhere near him when he hits him. Smack, where's the ball?"

"He hits him with his wrist, not his elbow," Carragher interjected.

Souness responded: "Jamie, you can't be that precise and say 'I'm only going to hit him with my wrist'.

"It doesn't matter, if you're leading with that (your arm) it's a sending off."

More to follow…

JOIN SUN VEGAS: GET A FREE £10 BONUS WITH 100s OF GAMES TO PLAY AND NO DEPOSIT REQUIRED (Ts&Cs apply)

Read our Transfer News Live blog for the very latest rumours, gossip and done deals

    Source: Read Full Article